Six Nations 2018

The Six Nations is arguably the most well-known international championship that takes place every year between six of the top rugby nations. This competition is actually the successor of the Home Nations Championship that took place between 1932 and 1939. There were originally four teams and with the addition of France and Italy, the total number of participants has grown to six. The winners of this competition are sometimes unofficially referred to as the “Northern Hemisphere Champions”.

Six Nations Championship

The format of this competition is straightforward. Each of the six teams will play the others once. This equates to a total of 15 matches. Home ground advantages change every year to accommodate the individual nations. The points system is not entirely different when compared to average rugby championships. 0 points equate to a loss, 2 given for a draw and 4 for a win. However, we should note that a Grand Slam victor is awarded 3 additional points to make sure that they finish at the head of the table.

Six Nations 2018

TOPSHOT – Ireland’s fly-half Jonathan Sexton (R) celebrates with Ireland’s centre Bundee Aki after scoring a drop goal to win the Six Nations rugby union match between France and Ireland at the Stade de France in Paris on February 3, 2018. / AFP PHOTO / THOMAS SAMSON @Scanpix

Six Nations Dates & Fixtures

The first round sees these three teams squaring off with one another:
• Wales Vs. Scotland (Principality Stadium) Saturday 3 February 2:15 PM GMT.
• France Vs. Ireland (Stade de Paris in France) Saturday 3 February 4:45 PM GMT.
• Italy Vs. England (Stadio Olimpico in Rome) Sunday 4 February 3 PM GMT.
Round two is as follows:
• Ireland Vs. Italy (Aviva Stadium in Dublin) Saturday 10 February 2:15 GMT.
• England Vs. Wales (Twickenham) Saturday 10 February 4:45 GMT.
• Scotland Vs. France (Murrayfield in Edinburgh) Sunday 11 February 3 PM GMT.
Here are the round three fixtures:
• France Vs. Italy (Orange Velodrome in Marseille) Friday 23 February 8 PM GMT.
• Ireland Vs. Wales (Aviva Stadium) Saturday 24 February 2:15 GMT.
• Scotland Vs. England (Murrayfield) Sunday 24 February 4:45 GMT.
Round four are below:
• Ireland Vs. Scotland (Aviva Stadium) Saturday 10 March 2:15 GMT.
• France Vs. England (Stade de Paris) Saturday 10 March 4:45 GMT.
• Wales Vs. Italy (Principality Stadium) Sunday 11 March 3 PM GMT.
Finally, here are the round five fixtures:
• Italy Vs. Scotland (Stadio Olimpico) Saturday 17 March 12:15 GMT.
• England Vs. Ireland (Twickenham) Saturday 17 March 2:45 PM GMT.
• Wales Vs. france (Principality Stadium) Saturday 17 March 5 PM GMT.

The Six Rugby Nations

The six nations which are currently attending the 2018 championship are England, Italy, France, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. You can bet on the Six Nations with Coral.

Six Nations 2018

England’s Anthony Watson, left, is tackled by Italy’s Tommaso Benvenuti, who fails to stop Watson scoring a try during the Six Nations rugby union international match between Italy and England at the Olympic Stadium, in Rome, Italy, Sunday, Feb. 4, 2018. (AP Photo/Gregorio Borgia) @Scanpix

Six Nations England

England has previously won this championship no fewer than 28 times, so they are certainly contenders. It should also be noted that they are the only team within the northern hemisphere which has won the Rugby World Cup. Their home arena is Twickenham Stadium.

Six Nations France

Known as Les Bleus, the France national rugby team have won the Six Nations championship 16 times and they have participated in nine Grand Slams. Ten of their previous players are now members of the World Rugby Hall of Fame, so we should expect a strong showing from their current line-up.

Six Nations Ireland

Ireland has walked away winners 12 times and shared the Six Nations title an additional eight times. Considering that Ireland is currently number three in terms of global rugby world rankings, they are serious contenders for this year’s title. In addition, Ireland defeated the All Blacks for the first time in over a century in November 2016. This shows their prowess as team on the pitch.

Six Nations Scotland

Scotland are currently fifth in rugby world rankings. Interestingly enough, the last time that Scotland won was back in 1999 when Six Nations was Five Nations (Italy was not yet a member). They have failed to emerge victorious since this time. Their most recent showing was in 2015 when they lost to Australia under debatable circumstances. They will certainly be looking to prove themselves this year.

Six Nations Italy

Referred to as the “Sky Blues”, Italy has been playing within the Six Nations championship since it was inducted in 2000. They are ranked 14th by the International Rugby Board and while they have not yet won a competition, they are beginning to show more resilience. This is particularly the case at home matches. It is likely that Italy will be looking to continue their momentum from recent years and rise up through the ranks.

Six Nations Wales

Wales is expected to show a strong presence this year. They have won the Six Nations a total of 26 times and their more recent victory was back in 2013. While many consider their “golden age” to be between 1969 and 1980, this team is on the hunt and looking for another win. The question is whether they will be able to regain their 2013 glory.